A long history of property expertise
The firm was founded by William Simmons who came from Banbury in 1802 and it continued, via his son William, on a family basis to the end of the 19th Century when the then partners Charles Simmons and his two sons Sir William Anker Simmons and Franklin Simmons took into partnership Mr. Edward Harry Dee of Henley who had no connection with the Simmons family.
Franklin Simmons, the great-nephew of the founder, opened the Basingstoke office towards the end of the 19th Century. Following the acquisition of the Basingstoke firm, Jennings & Rainbird, Simmons & Sons began a long involvement with the Basingstoke and Reading cattle markets.
At the conclusion of the First World War a knighthood was bestowed on Anker Simmons, brother of Franklin, for his services to agriculture.
Our current partners hold a wealth of property and real estate experience and remain true to the original principles of service and integrity that has been at the core of the firm since 1802.
Today, Simmons & Sons operate from the historic centres of Henley-on-Thames, Basingstoke, Marlow and Sherfield-on-Loddon with an additional office on the Peper Harow Estate near Guildford.